top of page
Search
  • Celeste Saul

Taking the Shot

This past summer I shot my first deer... Let me be more specific, I shot my first deer with my camera. I love being outside, one of my favorite things. Every time my family and I go on vacations, I seem to always be behind the lens, seeing the whole vacation through the viewfinder. A few times my mom has even said "OK Celeste.... that's enough pictures, you can put your camera down now" Whelp... I have learned a good lesson; Seeing the world with your own eyes is way better than seeing the world through a lens. But sometimes the world is way too beautiful to pass up taking a picture or maybe five.



Taking a picture is different from pushing a button. Lots of people think they are not good at taking pictures, but they can be. One of the main points into taking a creative picture is angle. Certain angles give different moods or different personality to pictures. Other ways I learned how to take creative pictures is learning composition rules of photography.


To take a good picture, you just need to train your eye to see the masterpiece. Wherever I go, it doesn't matter where, my eye is always seemed to be drawn to a good picture, so if you see me on the ground with my camera, don't worry I'm just taking a picture.


I learned all these tricks and rules while I took Digital Photo 1 and Film Photo 1. Once I learned these few tricks such as Cropping, Rule of Thirds, Leading lines, Watching the background, and Depth of Field. I then had to learn to train my eye to see creative pictures, once you can see it and imagine what the picture could look like, then it's the easy part of snapping the picture.



Ansel Adams is an amazing nature photographer. My parents love his photography work, and it has led me to loving it too. He was born in 1902 and died in 1984. Adams lived in the time where ever thing was taken with film cameras. Film cameras can be tricky, you take he picture, and you can't see it which is so hard, you never know if someone blinked or moved. You can only see the picture after you develop it. So after you take it and before you develop you are wondering if any of these pictures are good.


I remember once hearing my parents say Adams would sit in one spot and wait for the perfect moment to capture his master piece. Adams is an amazing photographer we have a few prints up in our house of his more famous ones, one that we have is, "Moon and Half Dome" in Yosemite National Park.


My favorite pictures to take have to be nature pictures. Nature is one of the easier things to shoot, it's not moving and will wait for you to take its picture, unless of course you are trying to capture an animal that is when it gets a bit harder. Most nature such as trees, rocks, and mountains will just stay in one place and let you take their picture, just waiting for someone to capture its beauty.





15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page